FCHD logo

Somerset County League

Somerset County logo

Prior to 2002, this league was known as the Somerset Senior League


Recent Divisional Champions (Incomplete list)

Season Premier One Two Three
1974-75 Shepton Mallet Town Dundry Athletic    
1975-76 Shepton Mallet Town Watchet Town    
1976-77 Radstock Town Abbotonians United Twerton Sports  
1977-78 Backwell United Tunley Athletic Bristol Manor Farm  
1978-79 Radstock Town Imperial Bristol Wellington  
1979-80 Backwell United Bristol Manor Farm Bristol Manor Farm Castle Cary
1980-81 Backwell United East Worle Burnham United Brislington reserves
1981-82 Backwell United Watchet Town Brislington reserves Bristol General Hospital
1982-83 Backwell United Burnham United Bishop Sutton Ilminster Town
1983-84 Robinsons D R G Bishop Sutton Long Sutton Taunton reserves
1984-85 Robinsons D R G Nailsea United Imperial United Weston super Mare reserves
1985-86 Robinsons D R G Imperial United Clevedon Town reserves Frome Town reserves
1986-87 Robinsons D R G Bridgwater Town Shepton Mallet Town Stockwood Green
1987-88 Robinsons D R G Weston super Mare reserves Stockwood Green Mendip Hospital
1988-89 Brislington Stockwood Green Ilminster Town Fry Club
1989-90 Bridgwater Town Clevedon Town reserves Keynsham Town Clutton
1990-91 Bridgwater Town Frome Town reserves St George Easton-in-Gordano Bishop Sutton reserves
1991-92 Bridgwater Town Portishead Bishop Sutton reserves Blackbrook
1992-93 Long Sutton Clevedon Town reserves Saltford Keynsham Cricketers
1993-94 Portishead Longwell Green Abbotonians Odd Down reserves Street
1994-95 Portishead Stockwood Green Robinsons Shepton Mallet reserves
1995-96 Portishead Nailsea United Ilminster Town Worle
1996-97 Street Lloyds Bank Worle Clevedon United reserves
1997-98 Portishead Timsbury Athletic Mangotsfield United reserves Wrington & Redhill
1998-99 Clevedon United Mangotsfield United reserves Paulton Rovers reserves Dundry Athletic
1999-00 Shirehampton Welton Rovers reserves Nailsea Town University of Bath
2000-01 Shepton Mallet Castle Cary Keynsham Town reserves Weston super Mare reserves
2001-02 Brislington reserves Westland United Weston super Mare reserves Backwell United "A"
2002-03 Nailsea United Cleeve West Town Odd Down reserves Worle
2003-04 Team Bath reserves Cheddar Shepton Mallet reserves Frome Collegians
2004-05 Mangotsfield United reserves Oldland Abbotonians Frome Town reserves Bishops Lydeard
2005-06 Hengrove Athletic Shirehampton Cutters Friday Taunton Blackbrook reserves

In 2006, Divisions Two and Three were merged and then split geographically East/West

Season Premier One Two East Two West
2006-07 Burnham United St George Easton-in-Gordano Peasedown Athletic Burnham United reserves
2007-08 Nailsea United Bishops Lydeard Larkhall Athletic reserves Langford Rovers
2008-09 Bridgwater Town reserves St George Easton-in-Gordano Bishop Sutton reserves Clevedon United reserves
2009-10 Bridgwater Town reserves Clevedon United reserves Frome Collegians Berrow
2010-11 Shirehampton Berrow Clutton Congresbury
2011-12 Nailsea United Ilminster Town Keynsham Town reserves Wrington & Redhill
2012-13 Nailsea United Yatton Athletic Broad Plain House Congresbury
2013-14 Nailsea United Broad Plain House Long Ashton Cleeve West Town

Division One was split into East and West Sections in 2014.

Season Premier One East One West Two East Two West
2014-15 Shirehampton Dundry Athletic Clevedon United Frome Town Sports Combe St Nicholas
2015-16 Bishops Lydeard Shepton Mallet reserves Middlezoy Rovers Somerton Uphill Castle
2016-17 Watchet Town Clutton Ilminster Town Saltford Nailsea & Tickenham res

In 2017, the Division Two sections were merged

Season Premier One East One West Two
2017-18 Chilcompton Sports Westfield Worle AFC Brislington

The league reverted to a four-tier structure in 2018

Season Premier One Two Three
2018-19 Chilcompton Sports Mendip Broadwalk Broad Plain House Middlezoy Rovers reserves

The FCHD does not have the full set of final tables for this league. Those we do have (dating back to the mid-1980s) were compiled from contemporary sources.

Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere