FCHD logo

North West Counties League

North West Counties logo

The North West Counties League is a three-division league at Steps 5 (1 division) and 6 (2 divisions, North and South) in the National League system, feeding the Northern Premier League.


The league was formed in 1982 as a merger of the Cheshire County League and the Lancashire Combination. The league originally had three divisions but by 1987 this had reduced to two, which is the format that last until 2018. After 2018, the lower division, "Division One" was split into North and South sections. The Divisions were named "Premier Division" and "Division One" in 2009.


The league has a number of feeder leagues at "Step 7" - the Liverpool County Premier League, the Manchester League, the Mid-Cheshire League, the Staffordshire County Senior League, the West Cheshire League and the West Lancashire League


As of 2010, a number of current members (Alsager Town, Atherton LR, Congleton Town, Flixton and Winsford United) have previous NPL experience, while in recent years, Curzon Ashton, FC United of Manchester, Nantwich Town, Trafford and AFC Fylde have moved up from the North West Counties to the Northern Premier League.


The league has a website, full of current league information and an extensive archive section at http://www.nwcfl.com


Divisional Champions

Season Division One Division Two Division Three
1982-83 Burscough Radcliffe Borough Colne Dynamoes
1983-84 Stalybridge Celtic Fleetwood Town Clitheroe
1984-85 Radcliffe Borough Clitheroe Kirkby Town
1985-86 Clitheroe Kirkby Town Blackpool Mechanics
1986-87 Stalybridge Celtic Droylsden Atherton Collieries

In 1987, Division Three was dropped

Season Division One Division Two
1987-88 Colne Dynamoes Ashton United
1988-89 Rossendale United Vauxhall GM
1989-90 Warrington Town Maine Road
1990-91 Knowsley United Great Harwood Town
1991-92 Ashton United Bamber Bridge
1992-93 Atherton Laburnum Rovers Maghull
1993-94 Atherton Laburnum Rovers Haslingden
1994-95 Bradford Park Avenue Flixton
1995-96 Flixton Vauxhall GM
1996-97 Trafford Ramsbottom United
1997-98 Kidsgrove Athletic Oldham Town
1998-99 Workington Fleetwood Freeport
1999-00 Vauxhall Woodley Sports
2000-01 Rossendale United Warrington Town
2001-02 Kidsgrove Athletic Stand Athletic
2002-03 Prescot Cables Bacup Borough
2003-04 Clitheroe Colne
2004-05 Fleetwood Town Cammell Laird
2005-06 Cammell Laird FC United of Manchester
2006-07 FC United of Manchester Winsford United
2007-08 Trafford New Mills

The divisions were renamed in 2008.

Season Premier Division Division One
2008-09 A F C Fylde Bootle
2009-10 Newcastle Town Stone Dominoes
2010-11 New Mills AFC Blackpool
2011-12 Ramsbottom United Wigan Robin Park
2012-13 Padiham Formby
2013-14 Norton United Nelson
2014-15 Glossop North End Atherton Collieries
2015-16 Colne Hanley Town
2016-17 Atherton Collieries Widnes
2017-18 Runcorn Linnets Silsden

In 2018, Division One was split North/South.

Season Premier Division Division One North Division One South
2018-19 City of Liverpool Longridge Town Rylands

The F.C.H.D. has the complete final table information for this league. Tables for 1982-1985 were originally taken from an A.F.S. "Tables of..." publication of March 1986, and later checked against BNLF and Non-League Directories. Tables since 1985 were originally compiled from contemporary sources. A full set of tables was most recently published in the book "Non-League Tables 2006" published by Soccer Books Limited

Other related websites

Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere