FCHD logo

Northern Premier League

Northern Premier League logo

The Northern Premier League was formed in 1968 bringing together the leading semi-professional clubs in the North of England, the North Midlands and North Wales. It was originally a league from where teams could be directly elected to the Football League (e.g. Wigan Athletic), but from 1979 it has been a feeder league to the Football Conference/National League.


The league expanded to two divisions in 1987 by adding a Division One, and Division One was split North/South in 2007, changing to East/West eleven years later. The league therefore currently consists of three divisions, usually of 22 clubs each.


Divisional Champions

Season Single Division
1968-69 Macclesfield Town
1969-70 Macclesfield Town
1970-71 Wigan Athletic
1971-72 Stafford Rangers
1972-73 Boston United
1973-74 Boston United
1974-75 Wigan Athletic
1975-76 Runcorn
1976-77 Boston United
1977-78 Boston United
1978-79 Mossley
1979-80 Mossley
1980-81 Runcorn
1981-82 Bangor City
1982-83 Gateshead
1983-84 Barrow
1984-85 Stafford Rangers
1985-86 Gateshead
1986-87 Macclesfield Town

In 1987, a second section was added. The existing teams formed the Premier Division while new clubs were added for Division One

Season Premier Division Division One
1987-88 Chorley Fleetwood Town
1988-89 Barrow Colne Dynamoes
1989-90 Colne Dynamoes Leek Town
1990-91 Witton Albion Whitley Bay
1991-92 Stalybridge Celtic Colwyn Bay
1992-93 Southport Bridlington Town
1993-94 Marine Guiseley
1994-95 Marine Blyth Spartans
1995-96 Bamber Bridge Lancaster City
1996-97 Leek Town Radcliffe Borough
1997-98 Barrow Whitby Town
1998-99 Altrincham Droylsden
1999-00 Leigh RMI Accrington Stanley
2000-01 Stalybridge Celtic Bradford Park Avenue
2001-02 Burton Albion Harrogate Town
2002-03 Accrington Stanley Alfreton Town
2003-04 Hucknall Town Hyde United
2004-05 Hyde United North Ferriby United
2005-06 Blyth Spartans Mossley
2006-07 Burscough Buxton

With the re-organisation of the Non-League pyramid, in 2007 Division One was split into North and South sections

Season Premier Division Division One North Division One South
2007-08 Fleetwood Town Bradford Park Avenue Retford United
2008-09 Eastwood Town Durham City Retford United
2009-10 Guiseley FC Halifax Town Mickleover Sports
2010-11 FC Halifax Town Chester Barwell
2011-12 Chester A F C Fylde Grantham Town
2012-13 North Ferriby United Skelmersdale United King's Lynn Town
2013-14 Chorley Curzon Ashton Halesowen Town
2014-15 FC United of Manchester Salford City Mickleover Sports
2015-16 Darlington 1883 Warrington Town Stafford Rangers
2016-17 Blyth Spartans Lancaster City Shaw Lane
2017-18 Altrincham South Shields Basford United

In 2018, the Division One sections were changed from North and South to East and West

Season Premier Division Division One East Division One West
2018-19 Farsley Celtic Morpeth Town Atherton Collieries
2019-20 Season declared null and void

The F.C.H.D. has the complete final table information for this league. Early tables were originally taken from an A.F.S. "Tables of..." publication of March 1986, and later checked against BNLF and Non-League Directories. Tables since 1985 were originally compiled from contemporary sources. A full set of tables was most recently published in the book "Non-League Tables 2010" published by Soccer Books Limited


Other related websites

Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere