FCHD logo

Wessex League

Wessex logo

When the Pyramid of football was built in the early-to mid 1980s, the Hampshire League was designated as one of the nine feeders to the Southern League. The gap between county league football and the Southern League was eventually considered too large, and an intermediate level was introduced with the formation of the Wessex League in 1986, taking it's members not just from Hampshire but from adjacent counties such as Wiltshire, Dorset, and West Sussex amongst others.


Bashley from the New Forest were the first champions, and in fact won all three championships they contested before moving to the Southern League. Since their departure, it took until 2011 for the triple-championship to be achieved again when Poole Town won the league for a third successive year.


Wessex League clubs have frequently been prominent in the F.A. Vase, Wimborne Town taking the trophy at Wembley in 1993, beating the holders, Yorkshire side Guiseley in a phenomenal final, 5-3. Eleven years later, free-scoring Winchester City claimed the Vase for the Wessex League for the second time, triumphing 2-0 over AFC Sudbury of the Eastern Counties League in a match played at Birmingham City's St Andrews ground. No Wessex League club has yet made the first round proper of the F.A. Cup - four times the fourth qualifying round has been reached (twice by AFC Lymington, once each by Romsey Town and Thatcham Town), but on each occasion qualification for the first round proved elusive.


The league expanded to three divisions in 2004, following a merger with the Hampshire League but dropped the third division three years later. The structure below the Wessex league in Hampshire in the future is yet to be determined, although the Dorset Combination will remain a feeder to Division One as the Wessex League sits at Step 5 and 6 in the National League System.


Sponsors of the Wessex League

Single Division
1989-90Romsey Town
1990-91Havant Town
1991-92Wimborne Town
1992-93A F C Lymington
1993-94Wimborne Town
1994-95Fleet Town
1995-96Thatcham Town
1996-97A F C Lymington
1997-98A F C Lymington
1998-99Lymington & New Milton
1999-00Wimborne Town
2003-04Winchester City
Three Divisions, One, Two and Three
SeasonDivision OneDivision TwoDivision Three
2004-05Lymington & New MiltonLymington TownColden Common
2005-06Winchester CityLocks HeathPaulsgrove
Three Divisions, Premier One and Two
SeasonPremier DivisionDivision OneDivision Two
2006-07Gosport BoroughHayling UnitedFleetlands
Two Divisions, Premier and One
SeasonPremier DivisionDivision One
2007-08A F C TottonTadley Calleva
2008-09Poole TownTotton & Eling
2009-10Poole TownHamble A S S C
2010-11Poole TownDownton
2011-12Winchester CityVerwood Town
2012-13Blackfield & LangleyBrockenhurst
2013-14SholingPetersfield Town
2014-15Petersfield TownTeam Solent
2015-16SalisburyPortland United
2016-17Portland UnitedHamble Club
2017-18Blackfield & LangleyChristchurch
2018-19SholingAFC Stoneham

The F.C.H.D. has the complete final table information for this league, compiled from contemporary sources.

Other related websites

Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere