FCHD logo

Wearside League

Wearside League logo

Formed over a hundred years ago, the Wearside League is a league that currently has the top division as a Regional Feeder League to the National League system, covering Durham and North Yorkshire


Recent Champions (incomplete list)

1910-11Haswell Swifts
1911-12Horden Athletic
1912-13Horden Athletic
1913-14Horden Athletic
1915-18Competition suspended during World War I
1918-19R Thompson's Munition Works
1919-20Seaham Harbour
1920-21Seaham Harbour
1921-22Lambton Star
1922-23R Thompson's
1923-24Hetton United
1924-25R Thompson's
1926-27Silksworth Colliery
1927-28Ryhope Colliery
1929-30Easington Colliery Welfare
1930-31Seaham Colliery Welfare
1931-32Easington Colliery Welfare
1932-33Easington Colliery Welfare
1933-34Horden Colliery Welfare
1934-35Blackhall Colliery Welfare
1935-36Lumley Sixth Pit Welfare
1936-37Murton Colliery Welfare
1937-38Blackhall Colliery Welfare
1938-39Blackhall Colliery Welfare
1939-40Usworth Colliery
1940-45League suspended during World War II
1945-46Birtley Town
1946-47Seaham Colliery Welfare
1947-48Easington Colliery Welfare
1948-49Easington Colliery Welfare
1949-50South Hetton
1950-51Sunderland "A"
1951-52Sunderland "A"
1952-53Boldon Colliery Welfare
1953-54Shotton Colliery Welfare
1954-55Boldon Colliery Welfare
1955-56Shotton Colliery Welfare
1956-57Shotton Colliery Welfare
1957-58Silksworth Colliery Welfare
1958-59Langley Park Colliery Welfare
1959-60Murton Colliery Welfare
1960-61Shotton Colliery Welfare
1961-62Ryhope Colliery Welfare
1962-63Ryhope Colliery Welfare
1963-64Ryhope Colliery Welfare
1964-65Horden Colliery Welfare
1965-66Ryhope Colliery Welfare
1967-68Horden Colliery Welfare
1968-69Darlington reserves
1969-70Horden Colliery Welfare
1970-71Horden Colliery Welfare
1971-72Horden Colliery Welfare
1972-73Horden Colliery Welfare
1973-74Blue Star
1974-75Boldon Colliery Welfare
1975-76Blue Star
1976-77South Shields
1978-79Wallsend Town
1979-80Hartlepool United reserves
1980-81Chester-le-Street Town
1981-82Seaham Colliery Welfare Red Star
1982-83Blue Star
1983-84Blue Star
1984-85Blue Star
1985-86Coundon T T
1986-87Annfield Plain

The League split into two divisions in 1988

SeasonDivision OneDivision Two
1988-89 Dunston Federation Brewery N E I Parsons
1989-90 Dunston Federation Brewery Wolviston
1990-91 Eppleton Colliery Welfare South Shields Cleadon S C
1991-92 Eppleton Colliery Welfare Silksworth
1992-93 South Shields Hartlepool B W O B
1993-94 Hartlepool Town Nissan
1994-95 South Shields Birtley Town
1995-96 Marske United Whitehaven Amateurs

The league reverted to a single division in 1996

1996-97Boldon Community Association
1997-98Annfield Plain

In 1998, Division Two was re-formed

SeasonDivision OneDivision Two
1998-99 North Shields Athletic Sunderland Red House
1999-00 Washington Nissan Redcar Town

A single-division format was re-established in 2000

2000-01Washington Nissan
2001-02North Shields
2002-03Birtley Town
2003-04North Shields
2004-05Darlington Railway Athletic
2005-06Whitehaven Amateurs
2006-07Birtley Town
2007-08New Marske SC
2008-09Newton Aycliffe
2009-10Scarborough Town
2010-11Ryhope Colliery Welfare
2011-12Ryhope Colliery Welfare
2012-13Stockton Town
2013-14Stockton Town
2014-15Stockton Town
2015-16Stockton Town
2017-18Redcar Athletic

In 2018, the league absorbed the Durham Alliance Combination as a "Development Division"

SeasonWearside LeagueDurham & Wearside Development Division
2018-19Hebburn Town reservesSunderland Town End
2019-20Season declared null and void
2020-21Season declared null and void

The F.C.H.D. does not have the complete final table information for this league. Tables from 1977 to date are available, compiled from contemporary sources.

Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere