FCHD logo

Spartan South Midlands League

Spartan SML logo

The Spartan South Midlands League is a three-division league at Steps 5, 6 and 7 in the National League system, feeding the Isthmian League and the Southern League.

The league was formed in 1997 as a merger of the Spartan League and the South Midlands League.

The league has a website, full of current league information at http://www.ssmfl.org while, league results and tables since 2000-01 can be found via Football Mitoo.


Divisional Champions

On formation, the league had five sections - a Premier Division North/South, a Senior Division and a Division One North/South

Season Premier North Premier South Senior Division Division One North Division One South
1997-98 Brache Sparta Brook House New Bradwell St Peter Luton Old Boys Old Roan

After only a single season, the regional sections of both the Premier Division and Division One were merged, leading to a reduction to three divisions

Season Premier Division Senior Division Division One
1998-99 Barkingside Holmer Green Bridger Packaging
1999-00 Arlesey Town Tring Athletic Dunstable Town
2000-01 Beaconsfield S Y C O B Letchworth Pitstone & Ivinghoe

In a cosmetic change, the Divisions were renamed in 2001. The Premier Division remained unchanged, while the Senior Division became Division One, and the old Division One became Division Two

Season Premier Division Division One Division Two
2001-02 London Colney Greenacres Mursley United
2002-03 Dunstable Town Pitstone & Ivinghoe Buckingham Athletic
2003-04 Beaconsfield S Y C O B Haywood United Buckingham Athletic
2004-05 Potters Bar Town Oxhey Jets Crawley Green Sports
2005-06 Oxford City Colney Heath Aston Clinton
2006-07 Edgware Town Brimsdown Rovers A F C Dunstable
2007-08 Beaconsfield S Y C O B Kentish Town King's Langley
2008-09 Biggleswade Town Royston Town The 61 FC (Luton)
2009-10 Aylesbury Holmer Green Berkhamsted
2010-11 Chalfont St Peter Berkhamsted Padbury United
2011-12 Royston Town London Colney Aston Clinton
2012-13 Dunstable Town London Lions Kent Athletic
2013-14 Hanwell Town Sun Postal Sports Hale Leys United
2014-15 King's Langley Welwyn Garden City Hale Leys United
2015-16 AFC Dunstable Edgware Town Kent Athletic
2016-17 London Colney Biggleswade Thame Rangers
2017-18 Welwyn Garden City Southall Park View
2018-19 Biggleswade Harefield United Bovingdon

The F.C.H.D. has the complete final table information for this league compiled from contemporary sources. We're not aware of the full set of tables being published in book form.


Other related websites


Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere