FCHD logo

South Midlands League

FCHD logo

The South Midlands League was founded in 1922 as the Bedfordshire County League, becoming the Bedfordsire & District County League two years later and adopting the name that would endure for the rest of the League's existence in 1929.

In 1997, the league merged with the Spartan League to form the Spartan South Midlands League


Divisional Champions

On formation, the league had just a single section

Season Champions
1922-23 Waterlows Athletic
1923-24 Biggleswade & District reserves
1924-25 Waterlows Athletic

The league split into two divisions in 1925

Season Division One Division Two
1925-26 Waterlows Athletic Waterlows Athletic reserves
1926-27 Leagrave & District Batford Old Boys
1927-28 Baldock Town Leighton United
1928-29 Luton Amateur & Ramblers Luton Davis Athletic
1929-30 Waterlows Arlesey Town
1930-31 RAF Henlow Stevenage Town
1931-32 Vauxhall Motors Arlesey Town

Division Two was dropped for the 1932-33 season

Season Champions
1932-33 St Neots & District

In 1933, Division Two was re-instated

Season Division One Division Two
1933-34 Vauxhall Motors Dunstable Athletic
1934-35 Bedfod Town reserves Stewartby Works
1935-36 Kettering Town reserves Biscot Sports
1936-37 Vauxhall Motors Arlesey Town
1937-38 Vauxhall Motors Vauxhall Motors reserves
1938-39 Wolverton Town Esavian Sports
1939-46 Competition suspended for the duration of World War II
1946-47 Luton Town Colts Bedford St Cuthbert's

The league added a third section in 1947. Division One was renamed the Premier Division, Division Two became Division One and a new Division Two was created.

Season Premier Division Division One Division Two
1947-48 Wootton Blue Cross Peartree Old Boys Baldock Town
1948-49 Cambridge Town reserves Luton Hitchin Road Old Boys Lynton Works

In 1949, Division Two was split into "A" and "B" sections.

Season Premier Division Division One Division Two "A" Division Two "B"
1949-50 Rushden Town reserves Baldock Town Houghton Rangers Cranfield United

The two Division Two sections were merged after just one season.

Season Premier Division Division One Division Two
1950-51 Bletchley Town Luton Kents Athletic Vauxhall Motors "A"
1951-52 Arlesey Town Bedford Town "A" Arlesey Town reserves
1952-53 Arlesey Town Biggleswade Town reserves Luton Skefco Athletic
1953-54 Shefford Town Stotfold Luton Davis Athletic
1954-55 Shefford Town Hunting Percival Athletic Barton Rovers

In 1955, Division Two was dropped

Season Premier Division Division One
1955-56 Bletchley & WIPAC Luton Town "B"
1956-57 Bletchley BBOB Luton Town "B"
1957-58 Bletchley United Peartree Old Boys
1958-59 Luton Skefco Athletic Stewartby Works
1959-60 Ampthill Town Sandy Albion
1960-61 Hemel Hempstead United Waterlows
1961-62 Harpenden Town Totternhoe
1962-63 Electrolux Addmult
1963-64 Electrolux Houghton Regis
1964-65 Harpenden Town Barton Rovers
1965-66 Baldock Town Esavian Sports
1966-67 Leighton Town Hanslope
1967-68 Baldock Town Rootes Sports
1968-69 Addmult Selby
1969-70 Baldock Town Welwyn Garden City
1970-71 Barton Rovers Towcester Town
1971-72 Barton Rovers Eaton Bray United
1972-73 Barton Rovers Pirton
1973-74 Welwyn Garden City Aspley Guise
1974-75 Barton Rovers Winslow United
1975-76 Barton Rovers BAC
1976-77 Barton Rovers New Bradwell St Peter
1977-78 Barton Rovers Royston Town
1978-79 Barton Rovers BAC
1979-80 Pirton Hatfield Town
1980-81 Stotfold The 61 FC
1981-82 Pirton Welwyn Garden City
1982-83 Pirton Shefford Town
1983-84 Shefford Town New Bradwell St Peter
1984-85 Eaton Bray United Milton Keynes Borough
1985-86 Selby Buckingham Athletic
1986-87 Selby Electrolux
1987-88 Shillington Pitstone & Ivinghoe
1988-89 Langford Welwyn Garden United
1989-90 Pitstone & Ivinghoe Harpenden Town
1990-91 Thame United Buckingham Athletic
1991-92 Leighton Town Ashcroft
1992-93 Oxford City Bedford Town

A "Senior Division" was inserted between the other two divisions in 1993.

Season Premier Division Senior Division Division One
1993-94 Bedford Town Toddington Rovers Stony Stratford Town
1994-95 Arlesey Town London Colney Houghton Town
1995-96 Arlesey Town Holmer Green Mercedes-Benz
1996-97 Potters Bar Town Leverstock Green Biggleswade United

The full league tables for the South Midlands League were published in a booklet by Bob Perkins


Other related websites


Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere