FCHD logo

Southern Counties East League

Kent League logo

There have been a number of "Kent Leagues" over the years. The most recent incarnation originated as the Kent Premier League in 1966, changing name to the Kent league two years later.

The league currently (as of 2020-21) consists of two divisions, at Step 5 and 6 in the National League System.

Hythe Town reached the first round proper of the F.A. Cup in 2010-11, the only Kent League since two teams from the old Kent League did so in 1958-59. Previously the best F.A. Cup performances had been Fourth Round Qualifying appearances from Herne Bay (1986-87) and Tonbridge (1991-92).

The league chaged name to the Southern Counties East League in 2013.

Divisional Champions

Season Champions
1966-67 Margate reserves
1967-68 Margate reserves
1968-69 Brett Sports
1969-70 Faversham Town
1970-71 Faversham Town
1971-72 Chatham Town
1972-73 Sheppey United
1973-74 Chatham Town
1974-75 Sheppey United
1975-76 Sittingbourne
1976-77 Medway
1977-78 Faversham Town

A Second Division was added on 1978, primarily for reserve teams although a few first teams did appear in the division from time to time.

Season Division One Division Two
1978-79 Sheppey United Medway reserves
1979-80 Chatham Town Chatham Town reserves
1980-81 Cray Wanderers Welling United reserves
1981-82 Erith & Belvedere Maidstone United reserves
1982-83 Crockenhill Maidstone United reserves
1983-84 Sittingbourne Fisher Athletic reserves
1984-85 Tunbridge Wells Sheppey United reserves
1985-86 Alma Swanley Fisher Athletic reserves
1986-87 Greenwich Borough Fisher Athletic reserves
1987-88 Greenwich Borough Fisher Athletic reserves
1988-89 Hythe Town Hythe Town reserves
1989-90 Faversham Town Margate reserves
1990-91 Sittingbourne Canterbury City reserves
1991-92 Herne Bay Folkestone Invicta reserves
1992-93 Peacehaven & Telscombe Dover Athletic reserves
1993-94 Wick Dover Athletic reserves
1994-95 Sheppey United Thamesmead Town reserves
1995-96 Furness Hastings Town reserves
1996-97 Herne Bay Tonbridge reserves
1997-98 Herne Bay Sittingbourne reserves

In 1998, the Divisions were renamed. Division One became the Premier Division, while Division Two became the new Division One.

Season Premier Division Division One
1998-99 Ramsgate Deal Town reserves
1999-00 Deal Town Thamesmead Town reserves
2000-01 Chatham Town Thamesmead Town reserves
Division One was split North/South
Season Premier Division Division One North Division One South
2001-02 Maidstone United Dartford reserves Dover Athletic reserves
2002-03 Cray Wanderers Cray Wanderers reserves Deal Town reserves

The lower divisions were re-structured into Divisions One and Two in 2003.

Season Premier Division Division One Division Two
2003-04 Cray Wanderers Corinthian Maidstone United reserves
2004-05 Ramsgate Erith & Belvedere reserves Bromley reserves
2005-06 Maidstone United Thamesmead Town reserves Folkestone Invicta reserves
2006-07 Whitstable Town Thamesmead Town reserves Margate reserves
2007-08 Thamesmead Town Thamesmead Town reserves Ashford Town reserves
2008-09 V C D Athletic Thamesmead Town reserves Herne Bay reserves
2009-10 Faversham Town Herne Bay reserves Beckenham Town reserves
2010-11 Hythe Town Cray Wanderers reserves Faversham Town reserves
2011-12 Herne Bay Herne Bay reserves Phoenix Sports reserves
Division Two was dropped in 2012
Season Premier Division Division One
2012-13 Erith & Belvedere Whitstable Town reserves
On the name change to the Southern Counties East League, only one open-aged division was played
Season Champions
2013-14 Whyteleafe
2014-15 Phoenix Sports
2015-16 Greenwich Borough

In 2016, the league absorbed the Kent Invicta League and a two-division format was establshed.

Season Premier Division Division One
2016-17 Ashford United Glebe
2017-18 Sevenoaks Town Punjab United
2018-19 Cray Valley (PM) Welling Town
2019-20 Season declared null and void

The F.C.H.D. does not the complete final table information for this league. Tables from 1972-73 are available (from contemporary sources), but those for before that date have not been found, and the same goes for a number of the lower division tables. Even the Kent League does not have the tables. Of those we do have, a number do not balance, mainly in terms of goals for/against totals. All missing tables are highlighted in blue above.


Other related websites

Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere