FCHD logo

North Berks League

North Berks League logo

The North Berks Football League is a feeder to the Hellenic League, but not (as of 2016-17) a member of the National League system.

Founded in 1908, it has three divisions (Divisions One to Three) but had as many as five not many seasons ago. Despite its name, the vast majority of clubs are based in South Oxfordshire. However, many of those Oxfordshire clubs were once in Berkshire before county lines were redrawn in 1974.

Current members with previous Hellenic League experience include Faringdon, East Hendred and Lambourn Sports. In recent years, both Shrivenham and Kintbury Rangers have moved up from the North Berks to the Hellenic.

The league has an excellent website, which includes a history section with all previous league tables, at http://www.nbfl.co.uk


Recent Divisional Champions

Season Division 1 Division 2 Division 3 Division 4 Division 5
1987-88 Milton United Saxton Rovers reserves AERE Harwell Long Wittenham reserves Benson reserves
1988-89 Milton United AERE Harwell Drayton Grove Rangers reserves Appleton
1989-90 Letcombe Milton United reserves Woodford & Dry Sandford AERE reserves Drayton reserves
1990-91 Saxton Rovers Saxton Rovers reserves Radley Buckland Radley reserves
1991-92 Saxton Rovers Saxton Rovers reserves Hanney United Radley reserves Harwell Village reserves
1992-93 Harwell Village Benson Blewbury Drayton reserves Sutton Courtenay reserves
1993-94 Saxton Rovers Saxton Rovers reserves Dorchester Childrey United Kingston & Southmoor
1994-95 Harwell Village Shrivenham Childrey United East Hendred Childrey United reserves
1995-96 Saxton Rovers Sutton Courtenay East Hendred Blewbury reserves Stanford in the Vale reserves
1996-97 Drayton Blewbury Benson Faringdon Town reserves Northcroft
1997-98 Shrivenham Stanford in the Vale Long Wittenham Athletic reserves Lambourn Sports Faringdon Town "A"
1998-99 Saxton Rovers East Hendred Lambourn Sports Stanford in the Vale reserves Hanney United reserves
1999-00 Saxton Rovers Lambourn Sports Botley United Wootton & Dry Sandford Warborough & Shillingford reserves
2000-01 Shrivenham Marcham Shrivenham reserves Ardington & Lockinge Marcham reserves
2001-02 Kintbury Rangers Benson Ardington & Lockinge Northcroft Appleton
2002-03 Kintbury Rangers Ardington & Lockinge Kintbury Rangers reserves Appleton Drayton reserves
2003-04 Kintbury Rangers Harwell International Buckland Didcot Casuals Ardington & Lockinge reserves
2004-05 Drayton Steventon A F C Wallingford "A" Ardington & Lockinge reserves Appleton reserves
2005-06 Lambourn Sports A F C Wallingford "A" Wootton & Dry Sandford Coleshill United reserves Wootton & Dry Sandford reserves
2006-07 Ardington & Lockinge Wootton & Dry Sandford Kingsclere Grove Rangers reserves Harwell Village reserves
2007-08 Lambourn Sports Crowmarsh Gifford Didcot Casuals Harwell International reserves Benson reserves
2008-09 Saxton Rovers Didcot Casuals Childrey Hanney United Coleshill United "A"
2009-10 Saxton Rovers Harwell International Hanney United Stanford in the Vale Long Wittenham Athletic reserves
2010-11 Lambourn Sports Benson Sutton Courtenay Berinsfield Marcham reserves

In 2011, Divisions Four and Five were re-organised into Division Four East and West

Season Division 1 Division 2 Division 3 Division 4 East Division 4 West
2011-12 Crowmarsh Gifford Berinsfield Dorchester Harwell International reserves Marcham reserves

The previous structure was re-instated after just one season

Season Division 1 Division 2 Division 3 Division 4 Division 5
2012-13 Saxton Rovers Ardington & Lockinge Childrey United reserves Hanney United Berinsfield reserves
2013-14 Kintbury Rangers Abingdon United reserves Burghclere Turnpike Sports Uffington United
2014-15 Berinsfield Lambourn Sports Turnpike Sports Ardington & Lockinge reserves Lambourn Sports reserves
2015-16 Kintbury Rangers Burghclere Harwell Village East Hendred reserves Hungerford Town Swifts reserves
2016-17 Berinsfield Hungerford Town Swifts Watlington Town Blewbury Grove Rangers reserves

In 2017, Division Five was dropped

Season Division 1 Division 2 Division 3 Division 4
2017-18 Saxton Rovers Ardington & Lockinge East Hendred reserves Cumnor Minors
2018-19 Saxton Rovers Watlington Town Letcombe Hagbourne United reserves

Division Four was lost in 2019

Season Division 1 Division 2 Division 3
2019-20 Season declared null and void
2020-21 Berinsfield Milton United Development Hagbourne United "A"

Other related websites

Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere