FCHD logo

Midland Football Combination

Midland Combination logo

Formed in 1927 as the Worcestershire Combination, the Midland Combination ended with five adult divisions - the Premier Division (Step 6 in the National League System), Division One (Step 7), Division Two, and two Reserve Divisions, plus a division for youth teams

In 2014, the Midland Combination merged with the Midland Football Alliance to form the Midland League


Divisional Champions


The Worcestershire Combination was formed with a single division

Season Champions
1927-28 Blackheath Town
1928-29 Blackheath Town
1929-30 (1st series) Halesowen Labour
1929-30 (2nd series) Dudley Town
1930-31 Halesowen Labour
1931-32 Dudley Town
1932-33 Tarmac
1933-34 Woodside Wanderers
1934-35 Catshill Village Hall
1935-36 Lye Town
1936-37 Catshill Village Hall
1937-38 Catshill Village Hall
1938-39 Catshill Village Hall
1939-48 Suspended during World War II
1948-49 Jack Mould's Athletic
1949-50 Bourneville Athletic
1950-51 Jack Mould's Athletic
1951-52 Walsall Wood
1952-53 Evesham United
1953-54 Brierley Hill Alliance reserves
1954-55 Evesham United
1955-56 Malvern Town
1956-57 Stratford Town
1957-58 Wolverhampton Wanderers "B"
1958-59 Shelfield Athletic
1959-60 Paget Rangers
1960-61 Paget Rangers

A Second Division was added in 1961

Season One Two
1961-62 Allens Cross Allens Cross reserves
1962-63 Alvechurch Hall Green Amateurs
1963-64 Hall Green Amateurs Castle Rovers
1964-65 Alvechurch Hall Green Amateurs reserves
1965-66 Evesham United Alvechurch reserves
1966-67 Alvechurch Highgate United reserves
1967-68 Evesham United Whitmore Old Boys

The league was renamed the "Midland Combination" in 1968.

Season One Two
1968-69 Evesham United Highgate United reserves
1969-70 Paget Rangers Coleshill Town
1970-71 Paget Rangers Solihull Town
1971-72 Alvechurch Highgate United reserves
1972-73 Highgate United Albion Haden United
1973-74 Highgate United Astwood Bank Rovers
1974-75 Highgate United Whitmore Old Boys
1975-76 Northfield Town Whitmore Old Boys
1976-77 Blakenall Astwood Bank Rovers
1977-78 Sutton Coldfield Town Hurley Daw Mill Miners Welfare
1978-79 Sutton Coldfield Town Stafford

Division Three was added in 1979.

Season One Two Three
1979-80 Bridgnorth Town Hurley Daw Mill Miners Welfare Sheldon Promovere
1980-81 Moor Green Sheldon Promovere Southam United
1981-82 Chipping Norton Town Bedworth United reseves Paget Rangers reserves
1982-83 Bridgnorth Town Studley Sporting Bridgnorth Town reserves

In 1983, the divisions were renamed

Season Premier One Two
1983-84 Studley Sporting New World Kingswinford Town
1984-85 Mile Oak Rovers Cheltenham Town reserves Bolehall Swifts
1985-86 Boldmere St Michaels Moor Green reserves Stratford Town reserves
1986-87 Stratford Town Wilmcote Bromsgrove Athletico
1987-88 Racing Club Warwick Chelmsley Town West Midlands Fire Service
1988-89 Boldmere St Michaels Bloxwich Upton Town
1989-90 Boldmere St Michaels Stapenhill reserves Pershore Town
1990-91 West Midlands Police Alcester Town Badsey Rangers
1991-92 Evesham United Studley B K L Marston Green
1992-93 Armitage 90 Wellesbourne Ansells

The league expanded again in 1993.

Season Premier One Two Three
1993-94 Pershore Town West Midlands Fire Service Massey-Ferguson Albright & Wilson
1994-95 Northfield Town Massey-Ferguson Richmond Swifts West Midlands Police reserves
1995-96 Bloxwich Town Richmond Swifts Continental Star Feckenham
1996-97 Richmond Swifts G P T Coventry Feckenham Swan Sports
1997-98 Worcester Athletico Alveston Blackheath Electrodrives Old Hill Town
1998-99 Alveston Northfield Town Fairfield Villa M C L Claines
1999-00 Nuneaton Griff Brookvale Athletic Wyre Forest Wilmcote S & S
2000-01 Nuneaton Griff Shirley Town Leamington West Hagley
2001-02 Grosvenor Park Rugby Town Burman Hi-Ton Littleton
2002-03 Alvechurch Knowle Barnt Green Spartak Wellesbourne
2003-04 Romulus Barnt Green Spartak Wellesbourne University of Birmingham
2004-05 Leamington Atherstone Town Archdale Coton Green
2005-06 Atherstone Town Knowle Bartley Green Halesowen Town reserves
2006-07 Coventry Sphinx Bartley Green Wernley Athletic Castle Vale J K S
2007-08 Coleshill Town Knowle Castle Vale J K S G S A & Smethwick Town
2008-09 Loughborough University Castle Vale J K S Shirley Hampton
2009-10 Heath Hayes Stockingford A A Hampton Blackwood
2010-11 Heather St Johns Earlswood Town Blackwood Polesworth

Division Three was dropped in 2011

Season Premier One Two
2011-12 Continental Star Blackwood Greenhill
2012-13 Walsall Wood Alvis Barnt Green Spartak
2013-14 Brocton Cadbury Athletic Kenilworth Town KH

The F.C.H.D. has the complete final table information for this league. Tables from 1984 were compiled from contemporary sources, while tables for earlier years were originally taken from the League History Book. A full set of tables (excluding Reserve Division) was most recently published in "Non-League Football Tables 1889-2007" edited by Michael Robinson and published by Soccer Books Limited. A few of the tables still do not balance.


Reserve Division

Season Champions
1986-87 Kidderminster Harriers reserves
1987-88 Atherstone United reserves
1988-89 Kidderminster Harriers reserves
1989-90 Kidderminster Harriers reserves
1990-91 Halesowen Town reserves
1991-92 Kidderminster Harriers reserves
1992-93 Tamworth reserves
1993-94 Hednesford Town reserves
1994-95 Nuneaton Borough reserves
1995-96 Rushden & Diamonds reserves
1996-97 Bromsgrove Rovers reserves
1997-98 Burton Albion reserves
1998-99 Burton Albion reserves
1999-00 Ilkeston Town reserves
2000-01 Boldmere St Michaels reserves
2001-02 Solihull Borough reserves
2002-03 Tamworth reserves
2003-04 Tamworth reserves
2004-05 Rushall Olympic reserves
2005-06 Rushall Olympic reserves
2006-07 Hinckley United reserves
2007-08 Chasetown reserves
2008-09 Chasetown reserves
2009-10 Quorn reserves
2010-11 Chasetown reserves

A second reserve division was added in 2011

Season Reserve One Reserve Two
2011-12 Chasetown reserves Coleshill Town reserves
2012-13 Redditch United reserves Bromsgrove Sporting reserves
2013-14 Loughborough Dynamo reserves Bolehall Swifts reserves

Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere