FCHD logo

Leicestershire Senior League

FCHD logo

Divisional Champions


The league was founded as the Leicestershire & Northants League in 1894.

Season Champions
1894-95 Leicester Fosse reserves
1895-96 Leicester Fosse reserves

In 1896, the league changed name to the Leicestershire Senior League

Season Champions
1896-97 Leicester Fosse reserves
1897-98 Hinckley Town
1898-99 Swadlincote Town
1899-00 Hinckley Town
1900-01 Gresley Rovers

The league folded in 1901, and reformed two years later.

Season Champions
1903-04 Loughborough Corinthians
1904-05 Leicester Fosse reserves
1905-06 Leicester Fosse reserves
1906-07 Leicester Fosse reserves
1907-08 Coalville Town
1908-09 Hinckley United
1909-10 Hinckley United
1910-11 Shepshed Albion
1911-12 Holwell Works
1912-13 Loughborough Corinthians
1913-14 Hinckley United
1914-15 Whitwick Imperial
1915-16 Coalville Swifts
1916-18 League suspended during World War I
1918-19 Coalville Swifts
1919-20 Whitwick Imperial
1920-21 Shepshed Albion
1921-22 Whitwick Imperial
1922-23 Whitwick Imperial
1923-24 Ashby Town
1924-25 Whitwick Imperial
1925-26 Barwell United
1926-27 Mountsorrel Town
1927-28 Burton Town reserves
1928-29 Burton Town reserves
1929-30 Burton Town reserves

The league folded in 1930, and was reformed in 1934.

Season Champions
1934-35 New Lount Colliery
1935-36 H R Mansfields Sports
1936-37 Loughborough Brush
1937-38 H R Mansfield Sports
1938-39 Donisthorpe

The 1939-40 season was abandoned in September, and a Wartime competition was insitituted instead.

Season Peacetime Wartime
1939-40 Abandoned Loughborough Colleges

After the transitional season, a single division was formed for 1940-41

Season Champions
1940-41 Brush Sports
1941-42 Leicester City Colts
1942-43 Leicester City Colts
1943-44 C O D (Old Dalby)
1944-45 Pegsons
1945-46 Coalville Town

The league was split into Western and Central sections in 1946.

Season Central Western
1946-47 Gresley Rovers Moira United
1947-48 Gresley Rovers Moira United

In 1948, the Divisions were re-organised into Divisions One and Two

Season One Two
1948-49 Coalville Town Measham Imperial
1949-50 Nuneaton Borough reserves Quorn Methodists
1950-51 Quorn Methodists Ibstock Penistone Rovers
1951-52 Anstey Nomads Oadby Town
1952-53 Measham Imperial Bentley Engineering
1953-54 Anstey Nomads Shepshed Albion
1954-55 Leicester City "A" Midland Woodworkers
1955-56 Whitwick Colliery reserves Burton Albion reserves
1956-57 Leicester City "A" Enderby Town
1957-58 Leicester City "A" Donisthorpe Colliery
1958-59 Stapenhill Morris Sports
1959-60 Stapenhill Wigston Fields
1960-61 Whitwick Colliery Syston St Peters
1961-62 Syston St Peters Loughborough United reserves
1962-63 Enderby Town Melton Old Grammarians
1963-64 Oadby Town Bentley Engineering
1964-65 Enderby Town St Margaret's Works
1965-66 Newfoundpool W M C Shepshed Albion
1966-67 Enderby Town Northfield Town
1967-68 Oadby Town Ibstock Penistone Rovers
1968-69 Oadby Town Earl Shilton Albion
1969-70 Newfoundpool W M C Friar Lane Old Boys
1970-71 Friar Lane Old Boys Enderby Town reserves
1971-72 Friar Lane Old Boys Thringstone
1972-73 Oadby Town Hinckley Town
1973-74 Friar Lane Old Boys Anstey Nomads
1974-75 Friar Lane Old Boys Great Bowden Imperial
1975-76 Friar Lane Old Boys Melton Town
1976-77 Friar Lane Old Boys Birstall United
1977-78 Friar Lane Old Boys Shepshed Charterhouse
1978-79 Shepshed Charterhouse Ibstock Penistone Rovers
1979-80 Shepshed Charterhouse Earl Shilton Albion
1980-81 Shepshed Charterhouse Lutterworth Town
1981-82 Anstey Nomads Narborough & Littlethorpe
1982-83 Anstey Nomads Newfoundpool W M C

The Divisions were renamed in 1983

Season Premier One
1983-84 Melton Town Harborough Town Imperial
1984-85 Thringstone Holwell Works
1985-86 Thringstone Syston St Peters
1986-87 Stapenhill Rolls Royce Mountsorrel
1987-88 Holwell Works Quorn
1988-89 Stapenhill Earl Shilton Albion
1989-90 St Andrews Barlestone St Giles
1990-91 Lutterworth Town Houghton Rangers
1991-92 Holwell Sports Burbage Old Boys
1992-93 Holwell Sports Barrow Town
1993-94 St Andrews Asfordby Amateurs
1994-95 Oadby Town Kirby Muxloe
1995-96 St Andrews Quorn
1996-97 Oadby Town Leicestershire Constabulary
1997-98 Oadby Town Thurnby Rangers
1998-99 Oadby Town Thurmaston Town
1999-00 Highfield Rangers Leicester Y M C A
2000-01 Quorn Thurnby Rangers
2001-02 Coalville Town Loughborough Dynamo
2002-03 Coalville Town Epworth
2003-04 Loughborough Dynamo Rothley Imperial
2004-05 Thurnby Rangers Anstey Town
2005-06 Friar Lane & Epworth Anstey Town
2006-07 Stapenhill Anstey Town
2007-08 Kirby Muxloe Asfordby Amateurs
2008-09 Anstey Nomads Sileby Town
2009-10 Thurmaston Town F C Dynamo
2010-11 Ashby Ivanhoe Desford
2011-12 Rothley Imperial Caterpillar
2012-13 Rothley Imperial Allexton & New Parks
2013-14 Allexton & New Parks Blaby & Whetstone Athletic reserves
2014-15 Sileby Town Cottesmore Amateurs reserves
2015-16 Birstall United Shelthorpe Dynamo

In 2016, the league absorbed the Leicestershire Combination. Division One was renamed the Championship, and a new Division One added

Season Premier Championship One
2016-17 Lutterworth Town Hathern Lutterworth Town res

The Championship level was dropped after just one season

Season Premier One
2017-18 Ingles Rugby Borough

In 2018, Division Two was re-introduced

Season Premier One Two
2018-19 Rugby Borough FC Wymeswold North Kilworth Sports
2019-20 Season delcared null and void
2020-21 Season delcared null and void

For more details on this league, or indeed any Leicestershire football, please check out the fantastic Leicestershire and Rutland Football History site.

Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere