FCHD logo

Hellenic League

Hellenic League logo

Formed in 1953, the Hellenic League covers the M4 corridor and the Thames Valley. It currently has five divisions on three levels - Steps 5 and 6 of the National League System for the Premier Division and Division One East and West with the three Division Two sections, consisting mainly of reserve teams, outside the NLS.

The league was formed with 16 clubs, many of whom had previously been members of the Oxfordshire Senior League, but in subsequent years has included clubs from Gloucestershire through to West London. The league covers a relatively large catchment area, but it is sometimes accused of being ill-defined. No really large centres of population come under the Hellenic League remit (apart from the fringes of London), so clubs from small communities such as North Leigh have been able to flourish in the League

A major event in the league history was the merger with the Chiltonian League in 2000, with the former Chiltonian clubs forming a new Division One East. The original plan was to have the regional divisions named Cotswold and Chiltern in an effort to preserve something of the Chiltonian name, but this was revised to be a simple East and West split.

Hellenic League sides have been entering the F.A. Cup since the league's inception, but only Witney Town in 1971-72 have progressed through the Preliminary and Qualifying Rounds to make the First Round Proper

Three Hellenic League clubs competed in the FA Trophy - Chippenham Town (3 seasons), Hounslow and Banbury United (1 season each), but none of them managed to win a single game. Hellenic League clubs are more at home in the FA Vase. Forest Green Rovers in 1981-82 and Didcot Town in 2004-05 won the Vase while Hellenic League members, while Hungerford Town have made the Semi-Finals and Quarter Finals during their various spells in the league.


Title sponsors of the Hellenic League


Divisional Champions

Season Champions
1953-54 Didcot Town
1954-55 Witney Town
1955-56 Headington United reserves
After three seasons, a second division was added. Most of the existing members formed the Premier Division, while new clubs (plus the bottom two from 1955-56) formed Division One.
Season Premier Division Division One
1956-57 Abingdon Town Luton Town Colts
1957-58 Witney Town Aylesbury Town Corinthians
1958-59 Abingdon Town Thatcham
1959-60 Abingdon Town Hazells (Aylesbury)
1960-61 Bicester Town Chipping Norton Town
1961-62 Thame United Botley United
1962-63 Yiewsley reserves Amersham Town
1963-64 Amersham Town Henley Town
1964-65 Witney Town Thatcham
1965-66 Witney Town Princes Risborough Town
1966-67 Witney Town Pinehurst
1967-68 Hazells (Aylesbury) Henley Town
1968-69 Wallingford Town Oxford City reserves
1969-70 Thame United Clanfield
1970-71 Witney Town Hungerford Town
In 1971, enough new clubs were added to split Division One into two sections
Season Premier Division Division One "A" Division One "B"
1971-72 Witney Town Fairford Town Chipping Norton Town
In 1972, the Division One sections became Division One and Division Two
Season Premier Division Division One Division Two
1972-73 Witney Town Thatcham Walcot
After only one season, Division Two was dropped and the league reverted to a two-division format
Season Premier Division Division One
1973-74 Moreton Town Cirencester Town
1974-75 Thatcham Town Maidenhead Town
1975-76 Burnham Abingdon Town
1976-77 Moreton Town Didcot Town
1977-78 Chipping Norton Town Bicester Town
1978-79 Newbury Town Northwood
1979-80 Bicester Town Hazells (Aylesbury)
1980-81 Newbury Town Wantage Town
1981-82 Forest Green Rovers Lambourn Sports
1982-83 Moreton Town Rayners Lane
1983-84 Almondsbury Greenway Morris Motors
1984-85 Shortwood United Pegasus Juniors
1985-86 Sharpness Viking Sports
1986-87 Abingdon Town Bishops Cleeve
1987-88 Yate Town Cheltenham Town reserves
1988-89 Yate Town Almondsbury Picksons
1989-90 Newport A F C Carterton Town
1990-91 Milton United Cinderford Town
1991-92 Shortwood United Wollen Sports
1992-93 Wollen Sports Tuffley Rovers
1993-94 Moreton Town Carterton Town
1994-95 Cinderford Town Endsleigh
1995-96 Cirencester Town Purton
1996-97 Brackley Town Ardley United
1997-98 Swindon Supermarine Ardley United
1998-99 Burnham Pegasus Juniors
1999-00 Banbury United Cheltenham Saracens

The Hellenic League merged with the Chiltonian League in 2000, enabling Division One to be split on an East/West basis

Season Premier Division Division One East Division One West
2000-01 Swindon Supermarine Henley Town Gloucester United
2001-02 North Leigh Finchampstead Hook Norton
2002-03 North Leigh Quarry Nomads Slimbridge
2003-04 Brackley Town Wantage Town Purton
2004-05 Highworth Town Eton Wick Shrivenham
2005-06 Didcot Town Hounslow Borough Winterbourne United
2006-07 Slimbridge Bisley Lydney Town
2007-08 North Leigh Chalfont Wasps Winterbourne United
2008-09 Hungerford Town Binfield Hardwicke
2009-10 Almondsbury Town Thame United Slimbridge
2010-11 Wantage Town Holyport Headington Amateurs

The Reserve Divisions were renamed Divisions Two East and West in 2011.

Season Premier Division Division One East Division One West Division Two East Division Two West
2011-12 Oxford City Nomads Newbury Tytherington Rocks Binfield reserves Gloucester City Development
2012-13 Marlow Rayners Lane Brimscombe & Thrupp Burnham reserves Shortwood United reserves
2013-14 Wantage Town Milton United Tytherington Rocks Binfield reserves Cirencester Town Dev
2014-15 Flackwell Heath Wokingham & Emmbrook Longlevens Stokenchurch Oxford City Nomads Dev
2015-16 Kidlington Penn & Tylers Green Carterton Penn & Tylers Green reserves Oxford City Nomads Dev
2016-17 Thame United Penn & Tylers Green Fairford Town Chalvey (WMC) Sports Bourton Rovers
2017-18 Thatcham Town Virginia Water Ardley United Chalvey Sports Newent Town
2018-19 Wantage Town Burnham Easington Sports Long Crendon Moreton Rangers
2019-20 Season declared null and void

A third Division Two section was added in 2020

Season Premier Division Division One East Division One West Division Two North Division Two South Division Two West
2020-21 Season declared null and void

The F.C.H.D. has the complete final table information for this league. Tables for years to 1985 were originally sourced from an AFS "Tables Of" publication, those since were compiled from contemporary sources. All were also published by the Hellenic League in a 50th Annivesary book "50 Glorious Seasons" in 2003. Some tables up to 1987 still do not balance - mainly in goals for/against.

Other related websites

Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere