FCHD logo

Essex Senior League

Essex Senior League logo

Formed in 1971, the Essex Senior League is a single-division league at Step 5 of the National League System.

The League changed its name for a single season, 1987-88, to the Essex Football League due to the presence of St Osyth, a club possessing only "Intermediate Status" in the lower division. St Osyth left in 1988 enabling the league to return to the former title.


Sponsors of the Essex Senior League

1971-72Witham Town
1972-73Billericay Town
1973-74Saffron Walden Town
1974-75Billericay Town
1975-76Billericay Town
1976-77Basildon United
1977-78Basildon United
1978-79Basildon United
1979-80Basildon United
1980-81Bowers United
1981-82Heybridge Swifts
1982-83Heybridge Swifts
1983-84Heybridge Swifts
1984-85Maldon Town
1985-86Witham Town
1986-87Canvey Island
1988-89Brightlingsea United
1989-90Brightlingsea United
1990-91Southend Manor
1991-92Ford Motors
1992-93Canvey Island
1993-94Basildon United
1994-95Great Wakering Rovers
1996-97Ford United
1997-98Concord Rangers
1998-99Bowers United
1999-00Saffron Walden Town
2002-03Enfield Town
2003-04Concord Rangers
2004-05Enfield Town
2005-06A F C Hornchurch
2006-07Brentwood Town
2007-08Concord Rangers
2010-11Enfield 1893
2011-12Witham Town
2012-13Burnham Ramblers
2013-14Great Wakering Rovers
2014-15Haringey Borough
2015-16Bowers & Pitsea
2017-18Great Wakering Rovers
2018-19Hullbridge Sports
2019-20Season declared null and void

The league also ran a reserve division from 1972-96; this division was known as "Division One" from 1985-91. This was reformed for a single season in 2004-05, and again from 2011-12.


The F.C.H.D. has the complete final table information for this league, compiled from contemporary sources. The tables and result grids were published in a 25th Anniversary book by Mike Wilson in 1996


Other related websites

Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere