FCHD logo

Combined Counties League

Combined Counties League logo

In 1978, the Surrey Senior League changed its name to the Home Counties League in an attempt to attract clubs from outside Surrey. When the name "Home Counties League" was deemed unacceptable, the name "Combined Counties League" was adopted for the 1979-80 season. For most of its existence the league was run with a single division, but for one year (1981-82) an influx of clubs forced seperate Eastern and Western Sections to be run. In 2003, the league absorbed the Surrey Premier League to be a second division, to be named "Division One" while the existing top tier was named the "Premier Division"

Probably the most well-known Combined Counties League member was A F C Wimbledon who were formed in 2002 as a "fans club" and a reaction to the fans' perceived mis-management of their previous club, Wimbledon, who had moved to Milton Keynes. A F C Wimbledon spent two years in the Combined Counties League before gaining promotion to the Isthmian League

The current membership is still centred mainly on Surrey, but with clubs from Hampshire, London and Berkshire also represented.

Three members have unbroken membership dating back to the re-naming to the Combined Counties League, Ash United, Cobham and Westfield.

The divisions are currently at Steps 5 and 6 of the National League System

Sponsors of the Combined Counties League

As the Home Counties League
Season Champions
1978-79 British Aerospace (Weybridge)
Name change to the Combined Counties League
Season Champions
1979-80 Guildford & Worplesdon
1980-81 Malden Town
In 1981, the league split into East and West Divisions
Season Eastern Division Western Division
1981-82 Malden Town Ash United
After only a single season, the regional divisions re-merged
Season Champions
1982-83 Hartley Wintney
1983-84 Godalming Town
1984-85 Malden Vale
1985-86 British Aerospace (Weybridge)
1986-87 Ash United
1987-88 British Aerospace (Weybridge)
1988-89 British Aerospace (Weybridge)
1989-90 Chipstead
1990-91 Farnham Town
1991-92 Farnham Town
1992-93 Peppard
1993-94 Peppard
1994-95 Ashford Town (Middlesex)
1995-96 Ashford Town (Middlesex)
1996-97 Ashford Town (Middlesex)
1997-98 Ashford Town (Middlesex)
1998-99 Ash United
1999-00 Ashford Town (Middlesex)
2000-01 Cove
2001-02 A F C Wallingford
2002-03 Withdean

In 2003, the league expanded to add a second senior section. Existing clubs formed the Premier Division, while new members became Division One

Season Premier Division Division One
2003-04 A F C Wimbledon A F C Guildford
2004-05 Walton Casuals Coney Hall
2005-06 Godalming Town Warlingham
2006-07 Chipstead Farnham Town
2007-08 Merstham Staines Lammas
2008-09 Bedfont Green Staines Lammas
2009-10 North Greenford United Mole Valley S C R
2010-11 Guildford City Worcester Park
2011-12 Guildford City Guernsey
2012-13 Egham Town Frimley Green
2013-14 South Park Spelthorne Sports
2014-15 Molesey Farleigh Rovers
2015-16 Hartley Wintney CB Hounslow United
2016-17 Hartley Wintney Banstead Athletic
2017-18 Westfield Worcester Park
2018-19 Chertsey Town Sheerwater
2019-20 Season abandoned

The F.C.H.D. has the complete final table information for this league, compiled from contemporary sources.


Other related websites

Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere