FCHD logo

Cheshire County League

FCHD logo

Formed on the resumption of organised football after World War I, the Cheshire County league was for most of its existence one of the very strongest leagues outside the Football League.

The league ceased to exist in 1982 when it merged with the Lancashire Combination to form the North West Counties League.

Despite its name, the league covered a far bigger area than the County of Cheshire, including at various times clubs from Lancashire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Derbyshire and even North Wales.


Divisional Champions

Season Champions
1919-20 Runcorn
1920-21 Winsford United
1921-22 Chester
1922-23 Crewe Alexandra reserves
1923-24 Crewe Alexandra reserves
1924-25 Port Vale reserves
1925-26 Chester
1926-27 Chester
1927-28 Port Vale reserves
1928-29 Port Vale reserves
1929-30 Port Vale reserves
1930-31 Port Vale reserves
1931-32 Macclesfield
1932-33 Macclesfield
1933-34 Wigan Athletic
1934-35 Wigan Athletic
1935-36 Wigan Athletic
1936-37 Runcorn
1937-38 Tranmere Rovers
1938-39 Runcorn

Upon the outbreak of World War II in 1939, the league split into two sections, East and West and played two competitions (one in late 1939 and one in early 1940) to make up the 1939-40 season

Season East West
1939-40 1939 - Droylsden 1939 - Runcorn
1940 - Hyde United 1940 - Runcorn

The League then shut down for the War, and resumed in 1945-46 with all the clubs back in a single division

Season Champions
1945-46 Wellington Town
1946-47 Wellington Town
1947-48 Rhyl
1948-49 Witton Albion
1949-50 Witton Albion
1950-51 Rhyl
1951-52 Wellington Town
1952-53 Macclesfield
1953-54 Witton Albion
1954-55 Hyde United
1955-56 Hyde United
1956-57 Northwich Victoria
1957-58 Ellesmere Port Town
1958-59 Ellesmere Port Town
1959-60 Ellesmere Port Town
1960-61 Macclesfield
1961-62 Ellesmere Port Town
1962-63 Runcorn
1963-64 Macclesfield
1964-65 Wigan Athletic
1965-66 Altrincham
1966-67 Altrincham
1967-68 Macclesfield Town
1968-69 Skelmersdale United
1969-70 Skelmersdale United
1970-71 Rossendale United
1971-72 Rhyl
1972-73 Buxton
1973-74 Marine
1974-75 Leek Town
1975-76 Marine
1976-77 Winsford United
1977-78 Marine

The League expanded in 1978 by creating a Second Division

Season Division One Division Two
1978-79 Horwich R M I Bootle
1979-80 Stalybridge Celtic Prescot Town
1980-81 Nantwich Town Accrington Stanley
1981-82 Hyde United Congleton Town

The F.C.H.D. has the full set of final tables for this league, originally sourced from an A.F.S. "Tables of..." publication from the mid-1980s. These have been checked where possible against contemporary sources, but a number of tables still contain errors (mostly the goals for/against totals are out ot balance). The tables that do not completely balance are highlighted in blue above - any assistance in resolving these "issues" would be much appreciated.


Other related websites

Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere