FCHD logo

Cheshire League

Cheshire League logo

Formed in 1948, the Cheshire League is a feeder to the North West Counties League, with a Division One at Step 7 of the National League system and a Division Two below that.

The league was formerly known as the Mid-Cheshire League, changing name to the Cheshire League in 2007.


Divisional Champions

Season Champions
1948-49 Altrincham reserves
1949-50 Altrincham reserves
1950-51 Lostock Gralam
1951-52 Lostock Gralam
1952-53 Lostock Gralam
1953-54 I C I Alkali
1954-55 I C I Alkali
1955-56 Runcorn Athletic
1956-57 Northern Nomads
1957-58 Runcorn Athletic
1958-59 Runcorn Athletic
1959-60 Linotype
1960-61 Stockton Heath
1961-62 Middlewich Athletic
1962-63 Lostock Gralam
1963-64 Nantwich
1964-65 Middlewich Athletic
1965-66 Lostock Gralam
1966-67 Lostock Gralam
1967-68 Lostock Gralam
1968-69 Linotype
1969-70 Whitchurch Alport
1970-71 Kidsgrove Athletic
1971-72 Middlewich Athletic
1972-73 Middlewich Athletic
1973-74 Congleton Town
1974-75 Middlewich Athletic

The League expanded in 1975 by creating a Second Division

Season Division One Division Two
1975-76 Congleton Town Lion
1976-77 Prescot Town Crewe L M R
1977-78 Congleton Town Crewe Rolls Royce
1978-79 Kidsgrove Athletic Lion
1979-80 Barnton Prescot B I reserves
1980-81 Rylands Handforth Irwin
1981-82 Hanley Town Intex
1982-83 Barnton Newcastle Town

Division Two was dropped in 1983

Season Champions
1983-84 Rylands
1984-85 Bramhall
1985-86 Newcastle Town
1986-87 Kidsgrove Athletic

Division Two was re-established in 1987

Season Division One Division Two
1987-88 Kidsgrove Athletic Leek Town reserves
1988-89 Barnton Wilmslow Albion
1989-90 Grove United Garswood United
1990-91 Linotype Newcastle Town reserves
1991-92 Grove United Broadheath Central
1992-93 Grove United Malpas
1993-94 Linotype Bollington Athletic
1994-95 Knutsford Cheadle Heath Nomads
1995-96 Garswood United Bollington Athletic
1996-97 Barnton Lostock Gralam
1997-98 Barnton Garswood United reserves
1998-99 Barnton Padgate St Oswalds
1999-00 Barnton Trafford reserves
2000-01 Barnton Broadheath Central
2001-02 Barnton Crosfields
2002-03 Barnton Golborne Sports
2003-04 Middlewich Town Padgate St Oswalds
2004-05 Barnton Penketh & Sankey Eagle
2005-06 Middlewich Town Gamesley
2006-07 Middlewich Town Stalybridge Celtic reserves

The League changed name to the Cheshire League in 2007

Season Division One Division Two
2007-08 Styal F C United of Manchester reserves
2008-09 Woodley Golborne Sports
2009-10 Club AZ Lostock Gralam
2010-11 Greenalls Padgate St Oswalds Denton Town
2011-12 Knutsford Whaley Bridge
2012-13 Knutsford Barnton
2013-14 Garswood United Poynton

The league expanded to three divisions in 2014.

Season Premier Division Division One Division Two
2014-15 Linotype Cheadle Heath Nomads Congleton Vale Wythenshawe Town
2015-16 Knutsford Wythenshawe Town AFC Macclesfield
2016-17 Whaley Bridge Billinge Windle Labour
2017-18 Knutsford Daten Ford Motors
2018-19 Pilkington Lostock Gralam Ashton Athletic res
2019-20 Season declared null and void
2020-21 null and void Knowsley South Blacon Youth Club

Other related websites

Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere